2. Personal experience of using social media

Social Media; wether its Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or LinkedIn, has permeated our personal and professional lives and affected us in several ways we didnt imagine.They have revolutionized the way people communicate and socialize on the Web , both positively and negatively.

According to hootsite 2.8 billion people were using social media by the end of 2016, up 21 percent from 2015 and in the U.K.,77 percent of people have a social media account.

In my own personal view, social media, especially Facebook, has affected me both positively and negatively.

On a positive note, growing up as a young kid back home in Africa, when I passed out from my Primary and Secondary Schools, I lost connection with most of my mates but Facebook has acted as a leisure outlet for me by conecting me with these long lost friends and Family, also where we exchange ideas, relate with, seek advice and offer guidance to each other.

Facebook has become an avenue where I get some information from some sponsored pages which turned out to be useful to me sometimes and I have also used it to create groups for collaborating with colleagues.From a professional viewpoint, LinkedIn has helped me connect to a lot of recruiters and also helped me secure some jobs in the past.

On the flipside, I have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with privacy issues , apart from that, I noticed it has made me less social, because I am now constantly checking my phones for updates and amusements rather than the good old human interaction.

My experience with social media despite its negatives hasnt been a bad one, but I have learnt to to apply moderation in my usage of it.

One thought on “2. Personal experience of using social media

Leave a Reply

